Future Media Leader Scholarship

Application deadline: Friday April 15th, 2016

Are you a college student majoring in Communications, Broadcasting, Digital Media or Advertising? Do you dream of the opportunity to shadow an industry insider and grow professionally through her mentoring? Could you benefit from a scholarship designed to assist you financially with your education?

If you answered 'yes' to any of the above questions, you may be the Future Media Leader we're looking for! The application period for this year's scholarship is now open. Apply today (see 'How to Apply' below).

About the Scholarship

The Future Media Leader Scholarship was established in 2004 to honor the lifetime achievements and contributions of Audrey Tanzer, one of the Alliance for Women in Media's most celebrated, dedicated and respected executives. 
The Future Media Leader Scholarship recognizes the academic achievements and merits of a student majoring in communication at New York City Tri-State colleges and universities.

AWM-NYC President, Loretta Vignier and 2015 Scholarship Winner Emily Eldridge

Recipient Award

The recipient of the Future Media Leader Scholarship receives:

  • $2,000 scholarship
  • Connection to an industry leader in any area of the broadcast and digital industries for mentorship and shadowing opportunities
  • One year's membership to AWMNYC and an honorary one year Board position (you need to be willing to serve on AWMNYC's board for the 2016/17 program year which includes monthly board meetings either in person or via phone)

Applicant Eligibility Requirements

Applicants of the Future Media Leader Scholarship must be: 

    • A current college undergraduate with a minimum of a 3.0 grade point average
    • Majoring in Communications, Broadcasting, Digital Media or Advertising (or related fields)
    • Attending a college or university in the New York Tri-State Area, (New York, New Jersey, Connecticut)

How to Apply

Ready to apply? Follow the three steps below to apply for this year's scholarship.

Step 1: Click here to submit your application

Step 2:
Fill out the application's short questionnaire

Step 3
: Upload the required supporting materials (please refer to the application form for a complete list of supporting materials)

 Questions? For more information, contact Beth Egan at

 Transcripts can be mailed to Beth Egan, c/o Syracuse University, 215 University Place, Syracuse, NY 13244

Past Recipients
The Alliance for Women in the Media, NYC, is honored to have selected the women listed below as past recipients of the Future Media Leadership Scholarship:

2015 - Emily Eldredge, Hofstra University
2014 - Jillian Belmonte, Rider University
2013 - Jessica Norton, Manhattan College
2012 - Angela Strignile, Montclair State University                                                                                                                                                           
2011 – Crystal Overstreet, Hofstra University
2010 – Natasha Pascetta, Fordham University
2007 – Erica Emmich, Montclair State University
2006 – Kathleen  LaCorte, Rider University
2005 – LaToya Patrice Rogers, Mount Saint Vincent        
2004 – Lauren Summa, Hofstra University